Preferences

Many aspects of your software can be saved so that they are set up the way you like every time you open a new file. These settings are known as program preferences.

There are other settings that are saved on a document basis. This means that each time you open or save a document, the settings will be applied only for that particular document. These settings are known as document preferences.

To change the program preferences, from the Edit menu, select Preferences.

General Preferences

 

Maximum undo/redo Determines the number of operations stored in the undo/redo list. Smaller values in this field use less memory.
Selection tolerance Determines how close the cursor must be to an object to be able to select it. Setting a larger value makes it easier to select points.
Constrain angle Sets the Constrain Angle when you rotate objects with Shift pressed. The rotation will be performed in the increment defined by this field.
Save documents every Open documents will be periodically saved. You can specify the time interval between saves.
Trash capacity Number of objects that can be saved in the trash layer.
Precision Number of decimal places in numeric fields.
Drag and Drop Images Select whether the images you drag and drop will be embedded or linked.
Display color popup window as

Selects whether the popup window that appears when you select a color from the Fill/Stroke dialog box is a list of color swatches along with their names or a palette of color swatches.

Save settings on exit When checked, the current settings for the software will be saved when the software exits and restored the next time the software starts up. If cleared, the settings are not saved, and at startup the software will load the settings that were in place the last time the software was shut down with this option selected. (Selected by default)
Smooth screen display By default, all objects in the design area are displayed using anti-aliasing to eliminate jagged edges on curves and provide a more attractive and accurate view of the design.
Restore Defaults Click this button to restore the default settings for the above fields.

File Paths

Document The default folder used to store your documents. Click Browse to select a folder.
Update default location on import, open, or save If checked, every time you import, open, or save a file, that folder will become the new default location.
Temporary Files The default folder used to create temporary files. If you have multiple hard disks, select a folder on the hard disk with the most available free space. Click Browse to select a folder.
Adobe Plug-ins If you have Adobe Photoshop installed, specify here the folder where the plug-ins are stored. Click Browse to select a folder.
Restore Defaults Click to restore the default settings for the above fields.

 

Font

Path The folder where the FSfonts are stored. Click Browse to select the folder.
Password

If the FSfont is protected by a password, click Add to enter the password. To delete a password, select the password and click Delete.

This setting only applies to version 10 and older.

Specify Flexi / Casmate fonts with open paths To specify that a Flexi or Casmate font will not be filled (for use in engraving, for example), select the font in the list and check Open. The font will be rendered as an outline.
  The software must be restarted for this change to take effect.
Restore Defaults Click this button to restore the default settings for the above fields.

 

Tools

 

Check Spelling Set options related to the on-screen spell checking features of the software.
Cloud Page Check this option if you prefer not to send file names to the cloud for your reporting tool.
Meter These preferences allow you to specify the colorimeter used in your software to measure color values and the port where the measurement device is connected.
Paste These preferences allow you to specify if the copied objects will be automatically created when pasted and the offset distance from the original object.
RIP and Print This tool allows you to specify that the software must communicate with Production Manager using TCP/IP and what to do when settings are different between RIP and Print and Production Manager
Select Tool These preferences allow you to specify how the objects will be selected.
Show Fills These preferences allow you to specify how the paths are displayed when the Show Fill option is off
Show Grid Check Show grids as dots to display the grid using dotted lines instead of solid lines.
Text Tool Lets you select how the software will display font size and width, tracking, and word spacing, also whether Chinese language kits should be used.
Zoom Selects whether the zoom and pan tool will be used only once before returning to the previous tool.
Restore Defaults Click to restore the default settings for the above fields.